Refine search

Sailing & Nautical Narratives

MPS183
$25.00  
Hardcover, Caspar Craven, 320pages, 6.5 x 8.5, ISBN: 9781472949912
The Craven family's inspirational story of their momentous two-year round-the-world sailing trip and how they did it--the vision, the planning, the highs and lows, the teamwork, and ultimately, the adventure of a lifetime. One night when their children were still in diapers, Caspar and...
+

SHP346
$9.98 $19.95  
Paperback, Geoff Holt, 364pages, 5 x 8, ISBN: 9781574092769
On September 5, 1984, eighteen-year-old Geoff Holt dived into an idyllic tropical sea, and his life changed forever. A broken neck cut short a promising career as a yachtsman and left him paralyzed, with his horizons reduced to an uncertain future in a wheelchair. On September 5, 2007, after a...
+

SWP064
$19.95  
Paperback, Wally Moran, 92pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9781948494113
The UN-ADULT A-RATED Wally by Cruising World Magazine contributor, Wally Moran, is a collection of 16 of Wally's best stories, un-cut, un-edited and un-usually fun reading! Wally's often philosophical humor and his tongue-in-cheek outlook on life, as well as all things sailing and cruising...
+

ACB156
$22.00  
Paperback, Peter Clutterbuck, 224pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9781472945716
This is a real-life story of small-boat adventure on the high seas, complete with extreme risk, last-minute ingenuity, and many near-misses. The Sea Takes No Prisoners  begins in the 60s, telling of the adventures of the author as a boy--a time of boarding schools, long holidays, and an...
+

ABI001
$18.95  
Paperback, Abigail B. Calkin Ph.D., 252pages, 6 x 0.6 x 9, ISBN: 9780615591933
When Captain Larry Hills attempted to rescue his deckhand, he too was tragically caught in the lines that whipped and wrapped the two men against the net reel of the trawler like captured fish. In the moment before the deckhand’s death he was the only one who heard Larry’s cold...
+

SIM098
$20.99  
Paperback, Janna Cawrse Esarey, 312pages, 5.5 x 8.5 ., ISBN: 9781416589082
The humorous true story of a woman who abandons her tidy life to honeymoon across the Pacific on a leaky, old boat--only to find that sailing 17,000 miles is easier than keeping her relationship off the rocks.
+

WAB004
$15.00  
Paperback, Linda Greenlaw, ISBN: 9780786885411
Known to millions of readers of  The Perfect Storm  as the captain of the  Hannah Boden , sister ship to the  Andrea Gail , Linda Greenlaw is also known as one of the best sea captains on the East Coast. Here she offers an adventure-soaked tale of her own, complete...
+

PAR005
$24.95  
Paperback, G. Bickley Remmey Jr., 232pages, 9 x 5.9, ISBN: 9780939837687
This, the second edition of A Guide to Planning and Cruising the Great Circle Route Around the Eastern USA, documents a motor yacht "cruise of a lifetime", the 5,400-mile circumnavigation of the Eastern United States. Author Bick Remmey refers to this voyage as "the longest one-way inland cruise...
+

ACB145
$28.00  
Hardcover, Jane Maufe, 320pages, 9.5 x 1.3 x 6.5, ISBN: 9781472935717
The Northwest Passage proved so elusive for so long that many sailors and explorers believed it didn't exist. A sea route connecting the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans through the Arctic archipelago, it wasn't until Roald Amundsen's 1903–06 voyage that the Northwest Passage's existence was...
+

ACB150
$27.00  
Hardcover, Adrian Flanagan, 304pages, 9.5 x 6.5, ISBN: 9781472912527
Cape Horn--the very name conjures images of churning seas, ice-laden rigging, howling winds, and impossible currents. Cape Horn's fearsome reputation and the price it has extracted from those sailors who venture there derives from a lethal contrivance of geography that unleashes the most...
+

PGN135
$28.95  
Hardcover, Daniel James Brown, ISBN: 9780670025817
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin OlympicsDaniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an...
+

PGN292
$17.00  
Paperback, Daniel James Brown, 404pages, 5.5 x 8.5, ISBN: 9780143125471
The #1  New York Times –bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36” For readers of  Unbroken , out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and...
+

GPT134
$16.95  
Paperback, Christopher L. Pastore, 304pages, 9 x 6, ISBN: 9780762784356
In 1903, racing for the America's Cup was no longer a gentleman's game – it had become a race entangled with political tension and awesome, dangerous stakes. In this pivotal year, the two great rivals Britain and America raced head to head, with Britain determined to win with their...
+

PGWSP01
$35.00  
Hardcover, ISBN: 9781938340543
+

MPS220
$27.20 $35.00  
Hardcover, Rodney Pattisson, Barry Pickthall, 192pages, 6.5 x 9.5, ISBN: 9781472935595
The previously untold life story from world champion, Olympic medalist, and Britain's most successful Olympic sailor for three decades, Rodney Pattisson, with a foreword by Sir Ben Ainslie CBE. Rodney Pattisson MBE, the three-time Olympic medalist and multi-world champion, is an iconic...
+

INT460
$11.00 $22.00  
Paperback, Tom Lochhaas, ISBN: 9780071803311
True stories of contemporary sailing disasters that will keep you alert and careful when you are on the water. . Suddenly Overboard tells stories about sailors who experienced catastrophes when least expecting them and who were rescued, or who died, or who lived to tell the tale simply by good...
+

SWP069
$24.95  
Paperback, Dave Rearick, 249pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9781948494090
On October 2, 2013, Dave Rearick began an epic solo voyage around the world. Onboard his specifically built Class 40 racing sloop appropriately named Bodacious Dream, Dave sailed from Newport, Rhode Island, sailing the length of the Atlantic Ocean to Cape Town, South Africa, 8000 miles distant....
+

SFA001
$15.99  
Paperback, Mike Litzow, 344pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9780692029268
"As a sailor who raised his daughter aboard, I was touched by this book. Litzow writes from the heart."  - Fatty Goodlander   When marine biologists Mike Litzow and Alisa Abookire decide to follow their dream and sail from Alaska to Australia, they agree that they won't leave...
+

SHP144
$11.98 $23.95  
Paperback, Adrian Sparham, 228pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9781574092172
A fine cruising narrative in which a couple decide to pull out of the rat race and spend years exploring cruising destinations off the beaten path. They learn a great deal about the world and themselves.
+

MPS193
$25.00  
Hardcover, Nigel Caulder, 208pages, 6.5 x 9.5, ISBN: 9781472946713
Long before he was one of America's leading yachting writers, Nigel Calder was a novice cruiser with ambitions grander than his experience, setting off for a round-world-voyage. Nigel and his partner Terrie were young and foolish, with a home-built boat that was new and untested, one child...
+

RAN077
$15.00  
Paperback, J. Maarten Troost, 272pages, 5.5 x 8, ISBN: 9780767915304
Tells the hilarious story of what happens when the adventurous author discovers that Tarawa is not the island paradise he'd dreamed of. It's one misadventure after another as he battles heat, bugs, and bumbling government officials.
+

PDB006
$13.56 $16.95  
Paperback, Lin and Larry Pardey, 256pages, 9 x 6, ISBN: 9780964603639
A tale of adventures, as two young dreamers continue their voyaging on board their self-built 24'4" cutter. They cross the exotic sea that spawned Homer's tales of Ulysses' Odyssey, then sail through the strife torn Red Sea and across the typhoon tossed waters of the Bay of Bengal. In this...
+

PDB015
$13.56 $16.95  
Paperback, Lin and Larry Pardey, 256pages, 9 x 6, ISBN: 9781929214167
Lin and Larry Pardey s first book, Cruising in Seraffyn is credited with launching 50,000 dreams. This third book in the Seraffyn series chronicles the three years spent exploring Ulysses wine-colored sea and clearly illustrates how they kept that dream afloat. Lin and Larry meander under...
+

PDB007
$13.56 $16.95  
Paperback, Lin & Larry Pardey, 319pages, 6 x 9, ISBN: 9780964603646
With this edition of Seraffyn's European Adventure, all four of the Pardey's classic Seraffyn tales are available in affordable paperback.   Join Lin and Larry while they winter in England working to pay for the next leg of their journey into the Baltic, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Germany....
+
1 2 3 4